# How membership upgrades apply unused value as credit

> For the complete documentation index, see [llms.txt](/llms.txt).

- If you use the built-in membership upgrade option, the unused value from your current membership is applied as credit toward the higher tier.
- Your checkout will show the remaining amount due for the upgrade.
- Your billing frequency stays the same as your current membership.
- If you buy another tier as a separate purchase instead of using the upgrade option, unused value from your current membership is not automatically applied.
- If you do not see an upgrade option, the creator may not have enabled membership upgrades for that tier.